Photography Reverse Engineer Post

INTRO

Photography is an important part of our every day lives. It is interesting to view photography and all that is important to remember when taking a picture. In this post I will go over three different “rules” of photography, (1) Rule of Thirds, (2) Depth of Field, and (3) Leading Lines. In each of these examples I will tell why they fall under the given category and I will also show one of my personal examples of these “rules.”

RULE OF THIRDS

http://abduzeedo.com/superb-rule-thirds-photography

This photograph was taken by Zhenya Semikhodski. I was unable to find any information about Zhenya himself, but I found this picture on the blog of Paulo Gabriel who is “a publicist by degree and a Front-end Developer/Designer by passion.”

As you can see in the above photo, when I marked this picture up, I was able to mark it up to make the rule of thirds. In the readings from this week on the Top 10 Photography Composition Rules, it says about the rule of thirds, “Imagine that your image is divided into 9 equal segments by 2 vertical and 2 horizontal lines. The rule of thirds says that you should position the most important elements in your scene along these lines, or at the points where they intersect.” This is exactly what Zhenya Semikhodski did in his photo. The lines intersect perfectly with the ladybug.

In this photograph that I took of my roommate, I made sure that she was off to the side and that I could put lines on the picture. I followed the rule of thirds by putting the subject in a place where I could intersect the lines right where she was standing.

DEPTH OF FIELD

This is probably my favorite of the pictures I chose from online. This is the perfect example of depth of field. I found this photography on a Flickr account posted by Eric Sorkow. I am not sure if this was just for a photography project or for his own use.

I love this photograph because it shows the tennis ball in the foreground and it shows someone in the background actually playing the game. I think it portrays a very incredible story of someone’s life love of tennis. Also in the reading it says about depth, “You can create depth in a photo by including objects in the foreground, middle ground and background.” I think the photographer did an incredible job with this and it works really well.

 

I love this picture because it means a lot to me in the way of spiritual meaning, but it also shows the depth of field perfectly. I was able to take the temple name card and show the work I did. It shows the importance of the temple and it shows the importance the name has in my life. I love that I can show this depth of field in something that means so much to me.

LEADING LINES

http://suburbanmen.com/late-night-randomness-20150512/106762

This picture showed up on a blog post of random pictures with no attribution of the original photographer.

This lines in this photography come from the railroad tracks and the grass. They point right to the moon where the photographer wants your eyes to go. Also in the reading it says, “By thinking about how you place lines in your composition, you can affect the way we view the image, pulling us into the picture, towards the subject, or on a journey “through” the scene.” To me, I think this picture is taking us on a journey because we are following the railroad to the moon, to another place.

I love this picture because the lines of the river and the lines from the tree lead straight to the newly renovated Idaho Falls LDS temple. Even though the temple is far into the background, your eye gets drawn there because the lines are perfectly directed to the temple.

CONCLUSION

I loved this assignment! I absolutely love photography and even though I don’t think I’m that good, I loved trying to find pictures for each of these elements and to also take pictures of my own. At first it was really hard for me but in the end, I loved it and learned a lot!

Leave a Reply

