Creative Ad Final

INTRODUCTION

For my creative design set, I had the demographics of: Female, ages 18-24, single, high school education, and income of $40,000-$59,000. I wasn’t really sure what I could do with my product of pots and pans, but after much deliberation in my mind, I decided to talk about how a specific brand could take you to a different world while cooking. I think that when you are a young single female, traveling and dreams are some of your biggest dreams. So I knew that this was what I wanted to do. I believe this design attracts my demographic because the brand I chose, Williams-Sonoma, is a little more expensive than most other brands, and I felt like putting the Colosseum in the pan would make it seem even more expensive for the experience a single female will have when cooking each night.

DESIGN AND PICTURES

The design choices came together for me as I went searching for pictures to use. Because I wanted to make this design more of a “it can take you to different places” type of design, I decided to search my pictures from when I went to Europe. I found a picture of the Colosseum and knew I needed to find another picture that had more of an Italian feel. I was able to find a dish in a pan that I felt really brought that Italian feel to life for what I wanted to do. I didn’t want to make the typography anything over the top because I don’t feel like that would go with the Italian feel, so I kept that really simple with a serif font to contrast with the san serif font in the logo that I used.

I also wanted to make the picture of the Colosseum seem a little blended with the dish because it’s more of a dream, so I wanted to make it feel a little distant. I also thought that helped to keep the focus on the pots and pans, which is the whole purpose of the ad.

MAGAZINE AND TV ADS

I needed to make my designs for a half-page magazine ad and a TV ad. They seemed to have almost the same measurements so I was able to fit everything on both of the ads. The only thing different between the two is that I had to make the pictures and typography slightly bigger.

PICTURES USED

I was really pleased with the pictures that I used because I thought they fit really well together. The first picture used was my own of the Colosseum. I took this back in 2011 when I visited Italy.

The second picture I used, I got from pixabay.com. It is a Creative Common Zero (CC0) picture. The picture was taken and put up by Hans. (https://pixabay.com/en/vegetable-pan-tomatoes-leek-1271991/)

CONCLUSION

As a single female myself, I am very pleased with how this design turned out. I think that it really tells a story and talks about some of my greatest dreams when I was that age. It’s interesting how just cooking dinner each night in pots and pans can really take you to another place and take you to places that sometimes you can only dream of. I hope that this is what others take from my design when they look at it.

Leave a Reply

